Speak Your Savings.

Our discounts, just in time!

10% using the code: BF23
All Events


Country: Russia

Language: angol

Place: Moscow & St. Petersburg, Russia

Ice Hockey World Championships

The annual IIHF tournament celebrates its 80th edition in May 2016

Organised by the International Ice Hockey Federation (IIHF), the 80th edition of the World Championship will be held this year in Russia between the 6th and 22nd of May.

The championships are an annual men's ice hockey event and the first edition of the tournament was celebrated at the 1920 Summer Olympics. Sixteen national teams will be taking part in this year's tournament: Kazakhstan, Belarus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Latvia, Norway, Slovakia, Sweden, Switzerland, Canada, United States and Russia (qualified as host).

Hungary and Kazakhstan are the two countries that have qualified after winning a promotion at the 2015 IIHF World Championship Division I. The other national teams (except Russia) have qualified after a top 14 placement at the 2015 IIHF World Championship.

Photo: jpellgen, Consol Energy Center

Tags: ice hockey | world championship

Ice hockey players